Pilgrim’s Keyboard

December 18, 2008

Born Again or Just a Christian?

Filed under: Bruce — pilgrimskeyboard @ 4:19 am

In the July (07) issue of Christianity Today (p. 17) from Q+A with NC Congressman Heath Shuler (D) about whether a born-again Christian should care about politics he responded concerning the aspect of being born-again as following: “I wasn’t raised as some-born-again Christian. I grew up in a Baptist church, and it was more or less, ‘You’re a Christian.’”

This statement caught my attention – Not that I question Rep. Shuler’s commitment to Christ or his veracity in what he stands for on any issue whether it is politics or religion. However, I have been a Baptist most of my life, well at least all of my so-called “religious life.” Over this span I have been a Southern Baptist, an American Baptist, a Landmark Baptist, an Independent Baptist, and a Sovereign Grace Baptist. Yet when viewed over all – I too just prefer to be called a “Baptist” – for according to personal preference that is what I am. Yet no matter what type of “Baptist Hat” I have worn or choose to wear – all of them have been under the fact that I have been a “born-again” Christian, not just simply a Christian! You may look like a Christian, act like a Christian, think like a Christian, and even do good works like a Christian – but if you are not born-again – you ain’t a Christian! “You must be born-again” (Jn 3:1-8) “to a living hope” (1 Pt 1:3).

ba

1 Comment »

  1. Amen!!!!

    Comment by Digital Publius — December 19, 2008 @ 12:33 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

