Pilgrim’s Keyboard

January 18, 2009

Inquiring in Bias

Filed under: Bruce — pilgrimskeyboard @ 3:50 am

2 Tim 2:15
Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

Now I realize in the reformed circles that I have already started this out on the wrong foot by using the KJV – yet you know the old saying: “If it was good enough for Paul it was good enough for me!” still seemingly applies to many today. Actually, you may be one who is really glad that I used this particular translation though you personally prefer less thees and thous – so out comes your trust worthy NKJ and since it is based on those same AV manuscripts – all is cool.

Now I know some of you may be as the seminarians of my not so soon-by-passed era and are advocating using the NAS. Then there are, of course, the SBC’rs who desperately would have wanted to use the HCS (which has not caught on as well as they would like), and surely here last but not least – the elitist of the elite – the Reformed class – would have opted to use the ESV.

Whichever translation works for you – go for it, I will wait until you come back. Ok, I am beginning to digress here. My point – why are you studying God’s written, infallible, inerrant, and absolute truth? Are you studying God’s word to prove your position or are you studying it to see what it actually says? All too often we approach the word of God with bias. Being a Five Point Calvinist I am a firm believer in the acronym – T.U.L.I.P. Thus in a very bias way I can and would be glad to point out the many places in the Scriptures that I have found to support my doctrinal position concerning these Doctrines of Grace. However, this is not the way to study God’s word – i.e., Just pick a doctrine and find its proof! That way we learn only what we need to know!

The Greek here for “study” is a second person, imperative verb. This type of verb here commands “You study!” (1) to be approved unto God (2) not ashamed (3) rightly dividing the word of truth. We are to seek what God’s word actually says and then apply it to our lives and if our positions must change because of its teachings – then change accordingly for this brings glory to God. Later …

Bruce

2 Comments »

  1. This is a hard teaching, I think many of us fall into this bias from time to time, Bless you for reminding us.

    Comment by digitalpublius — January 20, 2009 @ 6:12 am | Reply

  2. Thanks Hassan for your thoughts. I am afraid that many of us do fall into bias study. It is a trait that I try to avoid. However, as all of us do, I too find my self chasing my pet doctrines at times. May our Lord give us the ability to recognize such endeavors so that we will not study in a bias way but instead in a way that allows His Spirit to teach us what His word says. Then may we have the courage to change our lives accordingly. Blessings.

    Comment by pilgrimskeyboard — January 20, 2009 @ 3:14 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

