Pilgrim’s Keyboard

December 18, 2009

Charles Spurgeon on the Gospel …

Filed under: Some Famous | Some Not So Famous — pilgrimskeyboard @ 5:26 am

I  have always considered with Luther and Calvin that the sum and substance of the gospel lies in that word substitution – Christ stand in the stead of man. The gospel is this: I deserve to be lost forever; the only reason why I should not be damned is that Christ was punished in my stead, and there is no need to execute a sentence twice for sin.

I cannot enter heaven without a perfect righteousness: I am absolutely certain I shall never have one of my own. But, then, Christ had a perfect righteousness and he said, “There, poor sinner, take my garment and put it on; I will suffer in your stead, and you will be rewarded for the works you did not do, but which I did for you.”

Sink or swim, I go to him; other hope have I none. I find it very convenient every day to come to Christ as a sinner, as I came at the first. The word that drew my  soul – “Look unto me” – still rings its clarion note in my ears. There I once found conversion, and there I shall ever find renewal.

He is positive that salvation came in all its entiretky through faith, and faith only: “A salvation that does not save outright is neither worth preaching nor worth listening to.”  [“The Shadow of the Broad Rim” (by Ronald Ellsworth Day), Powell, TN: Crown Publications, 2000 |  (The Judson Press, 1934), 142-143.]

ba 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

