Pilgrim’s Keyboard

January 9, 2010

The Basis of Our Salvation

Filed under: A.W. Pink — pilgrimskeyboard @ 7:35 pm

The Basis of our Salvation

 A.W. Pink

 For the [Christian] believer the cross is interpreted in Gal. 2:20 – “I am crucified with Christ.” He was my Substitute; God reckoned me one with the Saviour. His death was mine. He was wounded for my transgressions and bruised for my iniquities. Sin was not pushed away but put away. As another said, “Because God judged sin on the Son, He now accepts the believing sinner in the Son.” Our life is hid with Christ in God (Col. 3:3). I am shut up in Christ because Christ was shut out from God.

             He suffered in our stead, He saved His people thus;

            The Curse that fell upon His head, was due by right to us.

             The storm that bowed His blessed head, is hushed for ever now

            And rest divine is mine instead, while glory crowns His brow.

 Here is the basis of our salvation. Our sins have been borne. God’s claim against us have been fully met. Christ was forsaken of God for a season that we might enjoy His presence forever. “My God, My God, why hast Thou forsaken Me?” Let every believing soul make answer: He entered the awful Darkness that I might walk in the Light; He drank the cup of woe that I might drink the cup of joy; He was forsaken that I might be forgiven!

 [Arthur W. Pink, The Seven Sayings of the Saviour on the Cross, (Grand Rapids: Baker Book House, 1975, 16th edition, original copyright 1958, by I.C. Herendeen), adapted.]

 ba

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

